Happy Birthday To You

 

Happy Birthday ! Today you would have been 24 years old.

It’s hard to believe that it has been a year since you left us and even harder not to pick up the phone to call you and wish you a happy birthday. But today, I pray for you all day, and celebrate the memories that you have created for me. I remember when we walked to school together every mornings, and I remember very clearly you holding my hand because I walked too fast. I remember your laughter as we chatted about various things about dreams, future, and about what was going on in our life. Listening to you speak in half English and half Javanese (something that sometimes I really miss hearing). Wishing that I could hear your voice once more, for only just a minute. We used to talk for hours on end about just anything and nothing.

You were the light of the house and you were one who held our family together and alive. We shared some amazing moments together and they will always remain alive. I remember visiting you in the hospital, spending days and evenings with you. Sometimes we would talk, sometimes we would just be quiet in our own thoughts. But every night before I left the hospital, I told you I loved you and that I’d see you the next day. And I left that night with a heavy heart.

The day you passed away I lost my bestfriend, my sister, and my companion. You may be gone from this physical earth, but you live within me every day, every moment, every second. I was counting the months I haven’t seen you with my fingers and I still can’t believe it’s been almost 2 years. It feels like it was yesterday I called you trying to guess which boy you liked.

We miss you very much ! We miss your smile ! We miss your cheerfulness ! Today, I want to wish you a Happy Birthday and to remember you as you were – strong, brave, cheerful, loving, and special.

Happy Birthday, De Ayu. We love you ! We all hope to be reunited with you in the best place possible (Jannah) ❤

 

Leave a Reply

